I’m Cycling from London to Brighton for Terrence Higgins Trust

DSC_0235

Because a picture of me in my cycling gear would have likely put you off donating!

50+ miles and one hell of a hill at the end of it! I’m reviving my 2012 performance of cycling from Brighton once more, for the greater good.

So far, I’ve been cycling my little socks off training for this big event, doing 15 mile loops into work and even 50+ miles over the North Downs to get myself fit enough for this mammoth effort. Why? Charity of course (why else)! By doing this craziness I will be raising money for Terrence Higgins Trust (THT). But why them?

I’m not someone living with HIV (I’m HIV- last time I had my regular check), but that doesn’t mean I can’t or shouldn’t be supporting THT. The support they give to those living with HIV, which includes several friends of mine, is invaluable. More so, as well as being there for those who have HIV, they do myriad work and campaigning to help prevent the spread of HIV, as well as disseminating some superlative information and materials on sexual health. Although THT is heavily associated with LGBT (particularly gay men) they’re actually open to and target all genders and sexualities, so this is far from about supporting a “gay” charity because I’m gay.

So, please join me as I make it increasingly difficult for me to handle stairs, by sparing a few quid to support the fantastic work that they do. You can donate to my cycle at my Virgin Money Giving Page: www.virginmoneygiving.com/jameswaygood.

THIGHS OF STEEL, ACTIVATE!

My cycle will take place on 7 September 2014. For more information about the Terrence Higgins Trust, please visit www.tht.org.uk.

Leave a Reply

